University of Illinois System
Last item for navigation

State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA)

What is the project:

The University of Illinois created the State Authorization Working Group with representatives from the three campuses as well as University administration to respond to Federal and State regulations around providing online education to out of state students.  Many states have regulations that require application and/or approval to provide online education in their state. In August 2013, the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA) was created to ease the work load of institutions. The State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement is an agreement among member states, districts and territories that establishes comparable national standards for interstate offering of postsecondary distance education courses and programs. It is intended to make it easier for students to take online courses offered by postsecondary institutions based in another state. SARA is overseen by a National Council and administered by four regional education compacts. Illinois is a SARA state and all three campuses of the University of Illinois are SARA institutions.

Who is involved:

University of Illinois State Authorization Working Group members:

Kristi Kuntz, Associate Provost for Academic Programs and Policies (UIUC)
Adam Fein, Associate Director, CITL (UIUC)
Gayla Stoner, Executive Director, UIC Extended Campus (UIC)
Janette Salamanca Maldonado, Director, Program Operations and Compliance (UIC)
Vickie Cook, Director, COLRS (UIS)
Andy Egizi, Program Information Coordinator, LIS (UIS)
Tim Gilles – Portfolio Coordinator, UAPS (UA)
Teri Karpman – Assistant Director, UAPS  (UA) – Group Chair
Plan/Status: Authorization or SARA approval is complete for 45 states or U.S. territories.


National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements